Originally published at: Is the Dweomerist Kit Affected By MP Penalties?
The core rules don’t directly specify whether heroes who create enchanted items using the Dweomerist kit are impacted by magic point penalties conferred by wearing armor or wielding shields, except to say “Magic point penalties conferred by armor do not affect the use of kit abilities, techniques, or talents, or any other abilities that use MP and are not purely magical in nature.” However, the kit ability does say you “enchant an inanimate, mundane object,” which can be interpreted as an act of spellcasting, even if the spell triggers later on. Additionally, the Dweomerist kit’s ability is “purely magical in nature,” which would further support the ruling that the kit’s ability is impacted by MP penalties conferred by armor and shields.